SCDOT ● THE CONNECTOR ● SPRING 2022 1

Deputy Secretary for Engineering Leland Colvin opens up the two-day SC Engineers Conference on April 12, 2022, at the Columbia Convention Center. The conference is a learning opportunity for transportation engineers and contractors.

# Conference updates engineers, trains leaders

By Bob Kudelka

he 2022 SC Highway Engineers Conference provided a variety of learning opportunities for engineers, contractors and professionals responsible for the design, construction, and maintenance of our state's highway system.

SCDOT employees learned key updates about the agency's direction and 10-Year Strategic Plan, as well as the past year's accomplishments and new challenges ahead.

"It's such a great opportunity for our engineers to learn and share ideas, as well as to network with agency peers, FHWA, contractors, consultants and get to know one another better," said conference organizer and SCDOT State Pavement Program Engineer Chris Kelly. "This conference pays dividends now and in the future as lines of communication expand and improve."

In addition, employees received valuable training from industry leaders and earned con-

tinuing education units (CEUs) for their PE (Professional Engineer) licenses.

Kelly said this year's conference had a great turnout, with excellent presenters and speakers on a wide range of topics.

Deputy Secretary for Engineering Leland Colvin welcomed attendees, followed by updates from Secretary of Transportation Christy A. Hall and FHWA Division Administrator Emily Lawton.

This year's training sessions included topics such as improving safety amid rising traffic fatalities; crane operator safety; "Complete Streets"; the Regional Mobility Program; an update on the Carolina Crossroads project; tips for Right of Way on Design Build projects; new software training; innovation in permitting; the latest in environmental; and updates on the bridge and interstate programs.

Kelly thanked the presenters, moderators and those who helped coordinate the conference including Agency Events Coordinator **Tina Kennedy** and Agency Events Assistant **Meagan Hare**.

## SC Highway Engineers Conference and Employee Recognition Ceremony • April 12-13, 2022



#### Safety Units of the Year

From left: Deputy Secretary for Engineering Leland Colvin, District 7 Engineering Administrator Jeff Terry, Bamberg RME Wayne Anderson, District 3 Engineering Administrator David Hebert, Oconee RME Randy Russell, District 1 Engineering Administrator Robert Dickinson, Lexington RME Mike Bagley, Secretary of Transportation Christy A. Hall and Chief Engineer for Operations Andy Leaphart.



#### QMT Excellence for Maintenance

Front row, from left: Abbeville Maintenance - Michael Jones, Cherokee Maintenance - Stephen Ellis and Hampton Maintenance - Jerry Gosnell. Back row, from left: Deputy Secretary for Engineering Leland Colvin, District 2 Engineering Administrator Kevin McLaughlin, District 4 Engineering Administrator Jason Johnston, District 7 Engineering Administrator Jeff Terry, Secretary of Transportation Christy A. Hall and Chief Engineer for Operations Andy Leaphart.



#### **QMT Excellence for Construction**

Front row, from left: Newberry Construction - Matthew Shealy, Abbeville Construction - Jeremy Hodges, Spartanburg Construction - Will Yarborough, Oconee Construction - Alan Adams, Georgetown Construction - Chris Bourque, Lancaster Construction - Ken Wilson, Laurens Construction - David Reece, Berkeley/Orangeburg - Keith Green, Lexington Construction - Jeremy Yuhas and District 5 Special Projects - Derrick Tindal. Back row, from left: Deputy Secretary for Engineering Leland Colvin, Director of Construction Robbie Isgett, District 1 Engineering Administrator Robert Dickinson, District 2 Engineering Administrator Kevin McLaughlin, District 3 Engineering Administrator David Hebert, District 4 Engineering Administrator Tim Henderson, Chief Engineer for Operations Andy Leaphart and Secretary of Transportation Christy A. Hall.



### **ENGINEERING EXCELLENCE AWARDS**

Front row, from left: Steven Bouknight, Fran Bickley, Josh Johnson and Iris Neal. Not pictured: Marcus Robinson. Back row, from left: Deputy Secretary for Engineering Leland Colvin, District 1 Engineering Administrator Robert Dickinson, Chief Engineer for Project Delivery Randall Young, Right of Way Director Mike Barbee, District 6 Engineering Administrator Timothy Henderson, Director of Engineering Support Rob Bedenbaugh, Secretary of Transportation Christy A. Hall and Chief Engineer for Operations Andy Leaphart.